The Pike County Agency for Developmental Disabilities (PCADD) serves persons who have intellectual and developmental disabilities in a variety of community based and person-centered programs and activities.

A developmental disability is defined by state law as a disability which is attributable to:

  1. Intellectual disability, cerebral palsy, epilepsy or autism, or a learning disability related to a brain dysfunction; or any other mental or physical impairment or combination of mental or physical impairments; and
  2. Is manifested before the person attains age twenty-two; and
  3. Is likely to continue indefinitely; and
  4. Results in substantial functional limitations in two or more of the following areas of major life activities:
  5. Self-care;
  6. Receptive and expressive language development and use;
  7. Learning;
  8. Self-direction;
  9. Capacity for independent living or economic self-sufficiency; and
  10. Reflects the person’s need for a combination and sequence of special interdisciplinary or generic care, habilitation or other services which may be of lifelong or extended duration and are individually planned and coordinated.

Missouri state statutes that guide eligibility for PCADD services are contained in Sections 630.005 and Sections 205.968-205.972 of the revised Missouri statutes.

A person with a developmental disability must be diagnosed by appropriate clinical authorities before being considered eligible for PCADD services, such as MO Division of Developmental Disability intake and eligibility staff.